A rare bird

Tilly wonders if other people like looking at this painting of a stone curlew.

Tilly wonders if other people like looking at this painting of a stone curlew.

I WALK past here with my Moonraker Mum and I know she loves this painting of a rare stone curlew. We watched the chap put the finishing touches to it last autumn, and we stop and study it quite often.

My mum says it is amazing how cleverly the man has managed to make the paint look like feathers. By then, of course, I’m ready to move on, in case there is a whiff of squirrel in the park nearby.

The painting is on the west side of the public lavatories in Crane Bridge Road, Salisbury, and there is a notice that says it came about because of collaboration between Salisbury City Council, the RSPB and ATM street art.

My Moonraker Mum says that there are some stone curlews on Salisbury Plain but they are an endangered species. I don’t think I’d be too happy if I saw a real bird as big as that painting. After all, that is a lot bigger than those big white birds that I see on the river, and they are big enough.

 

Leave a Reply

