THE Happy Moonraker always likes hearing about Moonrakers achieving things so it was brilliant to find out about two who have produced what sounds like a fascinating book.
It is packed with local history dating from early Victorian times until the late 1970s, all of it centred on the women-only College of Sarum St Michael where first-time authors Jenny Head and Anne Johns trained as teachers in the 1960s.
College memories flooded back to them as they compiled the book. They were persuaded to tackle the task by friends who join them at the college’s annual reunion, and after more than a year’s hard work, the book finally hits the bookshops later this week.
Jenny (née Allcock) and Anne (née Mortimer) have now retired from their teaching careers but they have enjoyed the process of research, meeting former students, their descendants, staff and others with memories of the College’s presence in the Cathedral Close.
They have called their book “Inspired to Teach” and they were delighted when former student and well-known local artist Sue Finniss agreed to produce the watercolour that adorns the cover. It shows King’s House, once the college and now the home of The Salisbury Museum.
While working on the book, Jenny and Anne say they met once or twice a month to compare notes and collaborate on parts of it but most of the time they worked on their own, fitting in research and writing round their busy family lives.
Sarum St Michael opened its doors in 1841 and only closed in 1978 following nationwide changes in policy for the training of teachers.
Copies of the 200-page, profusely illustrated “Inspired to Teach” cost £20 each if ordered before 9th April from http://www.inspiredtoteach.co.uk. Thereafter it will cost £25 plus £4.50 p&p. Profits after printing costs are being dedicated to Cress, the diocesan charity that helps education projects in South Sudan.