Stopped in my tracks

THE Happy Moonraker was jogging (slowly of course) along a rough path next to the hedge when all of a sudden there seemed to be a stone inside my trainer.

It didn’t budge when I tapped the toe of the trainer on the ground; it didn’t budge when I removed the trainer and shook it; it didn’t budge when I took my sock off.

Each time I put the trainer back on and each time there was something sticking in the bottom of my foot.

It was a mystery, until I took the shoe off again and looked at the sole, and there was the blackthorn sticking right through the thick rubber, into the shoe and digging into my foot.

No wonder I couldn’t move it, and no wonder it hurt my foot every time I put weight on it.

The thorn was difficult to remove: I had to twist it and turn it, all the time making sure I didn’t break it but it finally came away in my fingers, leaving a hole in the shoe.

Naturally I had to bring the thorn home and take a photo of it.

A thorn shared has to be a thorn halved.

How about this for a thorny problem?

How about this for a thorny problem?

Leave a Reply

